May 24, 2017

Category: Young Adults

SAVE THE DATE! The Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center (AYAH-NRC) is pleased to announce the second Learning Community series: Marketing the Adolescent and Young Adult Well Visit Co-creation > Youth Engagement? REGISTER – http://bit.ly/2pEJ6M6 Tuesday, May 16th 2pm-3:30pm ET 1pm-2:30pm CT 12pm-1:30pm MT 11am-12:30pm PT 10am – 11:30am Alaska 8am – 9:30am…

The Adolescent and Young Adult Health Research Network (AYAH-RN) was recently published in the Journal of Adolescent Health. All the articles are free via Open Access. NEW! Suleiman AB, Dahl RE. Leveraging neuroscience to inform adolescent health: The need for an innovative transdisciplinary developmental science of adolescence. J Adolesc Health. 2017; 60(3):240-8. Click here for…

The Adolescent and Young Adult Health Research Network (AYAH-RN) held a workshop at the SAHM 2017 Annual Meeting— “Cultivating Connections: The Importance of Relationships in Adolescent and Young Adult Health.” AYAH-RN Workshop, March 8, 2017, “USING TECHNOLOGY TO EXTEND CLINICIANS’ PREVENTIVE REACH.” The Network is pleased to share presentations given by our staff and partners. Dr….

Dr. Sion Kim Harris from the AYAH-RN was interviewed in a recent article from the New York Times, which explores the correlation between increased use of electronic devices (e.g., smartphones, tablets) and the decline of drug use among American teens. Read it here!

        The Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center (AYAH-NRC) held a workshop at the SAHM 2017 Annual Meeting— “Cultivating Connections: The Importance of Relationships in Adolescent and Young Adult Health.” AYAH-NRC Workshop, March 8, 2017, “Why Aren’t AYAs Going to Well-Care? Challenges and Improving Receipt of Preventive Services.” The Center is…

SAVE THE DATE! Creating Youth-Centered Care Learning Community Series #1: Healthcare 101: State Partnerships to Improve Adolescent and Young Adult Healthcare REGISTER – http://bit.ly/2orSqjy April 20, 2017 2pm – 3pm ET 1pm-2pm CT 12pm-1pm MT 11am-12pm PT 8am – 9am Hawaii In follow-up to the recent webinar on the Ohio TALK (Transforming Adolescent Care Learning…

The Adolescent and Young Adult Health Research Network is pleased to announce the publication of a review article on clinical preventive services for adolescents and young adults in the Journal of Adolescent Health (JAH). This article is available FREE online (and will come out in the March issue of JAH), here:   http://www.jahonline.org/article/S1054-139X(16)30401-3/fulltext   The article reviews…

Provisions of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) of 2010 hold promise for improving access to and receipt of preventive services for adolescents and young adults (AYAs). The Title V Block Grant transformation also includes a focus on improving adolescent preventive care. In a new brief report, this article describes and discusses an…

Dr. Elizabeth Ozer, AYAH-RN’s Principal Investigator, was interviewed in a recent article on how parenting practices need to evolve as teenagers get older and enter early adulthood.  Read the article here.

This compendium presents promising strategies to improve access to health insurance and quality preventive visits among AYAs. This resource stems from an exploratory study conducted by NAHIC/AYAH-NRC staff to review the experiences of selected “top performing” states related to ACA implementation. Click here for the report, with descriptions of specific initiatives led by agencies, cities,…